Skip to content

Explosion in the garden

May 25, 2009

garden growing, originally uploaded by maggies farm.

We’ve had a very wet spring. I’m not complaining, mind you. It has been dry here for so long, that I don’t mind the mud in the barnyard, or mowing twice a week. I love that the springs are full and the creek is flowing. The rain barrels runneth over and I am full of joy.

However, I’d like to make a request that we have a few sunny, slightly breezy days. I’d like to plant the tomatoes, squash and celery. I’d also like to weed. This becomes difficult when everytime I step outside it starts to rain.

Now is the season of the salad – lettuce, arugula, greens galore, spring onions and radishes. The carrots are growing and the peas are flowering. It’s hard not to eat the snow peas right off the vine. Our asparagus is finally after three years producing. The borage has successfully reseeded as have the zinnias, marigolds and cosmos.

Opening day of the Tailgate Market was this Saturday.  We did quite well and I’m very excited for the summer.  We had lots of lettuce, kale and onions.  The variety is limited right now, but the lettuce will never be better.  We always sell out of the red lettuce quickly.  And our spring mix was gone in a blink.  I think people hunger for that first real taste of green.  And when it was picked within the day of consuming it so much better.  I was elected Market Manager (basically no one else wanted the job).  I was intimidated at first, but it’s not as difficult as it was made out to be. 

I have been sporadic in posting and will try to be more consistant.  Stick around.  Don’t you want to see what’s coming up next?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 25, 2009 7:58 pm

    Hee hee, yup, we had our first lettuce today ourselves. And the peas will be soon.

    Is that a scare-bird there in the middle of your garden?

Leave a Reply

