Skip to content

Back to nature

June 30, 2009

Coreopsis tinctoria, originally uploaded by maggies farm.

We have a rather large lawn. It’s about an acre. Last year I decided to convert some of it to meadow. Drought and the cost of gas helped force the issue. Charlie had a custom meadow seed mix he had developed for a client.  It was full of native flowers and grasses.  He developed it for areas that could be left unmowed and to create an environment friendly to wildlife.

Last year there wasn’t much but Little Blue Stem and Fescue. This year the flowers are emerging.   I planted some daffodil bulbs that bloomed this spring spreading out from their bed and under the blueberries into my meadow.  Several Coreopsis, Fringed Loosestrife and Fleabane are blooming now along with Queen Anne’s Lace.  It’s so much more interesting and environmentaly friendly than mowed grass.  I’ve mowed a path through it that meets our woodland trail.  I love the look of the tidy path through the wildness.  The bees and butterflies love it.  

We started another spot this spring down by the north goat paddock.  Nothing to it really – just stop mowing and we added a little seed (another mix for woodland edges).  I’m not sure if Turks Cap Lilies were in the mix, or just came up when I stopped mowing, but there are some under the big red oak.  They are one of my favorite woodland flowers and I’ve only found them on one spot of our land (the piece we sold, of course!).  Our yard is slightly smaller, but our lives are much improved.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 6:58 am

    Great idea. I know I’d probably do the same. Mowing and dusting—ugh. My least favorite household chores.

  2. August 7, 2009 4:12 am

    Have been utterly rubbish at remembering to update my link to you, but have finally managed to get brain in gear!

    Gorgeous bloom. What’s the view like these days? I miss your photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

