Skip to content

Taking stock of the little things

August 7, 2009

sassafras fruit, originally uploaded by maggies farm.

I have been preoccupied of late with the state of everything around me that I cannot seem to control.  The worry over finances and lack there of, the worry over health insurance and lack there of, the worry over employment and lack there of… you get the picture.  It has been very easy to close myself off from the world around me.  Earlier this week I started walking.  I still have pain in my hip and back, so these forays have been slow yet steady.  On a walk up the mountain I discovered yellow fringed orchids.  On a walk down the valley I had a rather terse discussion with a young black bear. 
Today my walk was accompanied by my lovely, talkative daughter, the Monkey.  Silence was not found, but enjoyment and chatter were.  We kept an eye out for one of the flocks of resident wild turkeys.  We listened to the different sounds the crows make (almost as many as Monkey can make).    We wondered why one of our neighbors never seems to enjoy the beautiful spring-fed pond next to their house (in fact we rarely see the adults or two children outside).  We decided if we had that pond we would have a canoe and a row-boat and swim every day, even if it was cloudy.  We started our walk encased in fog and ended in bright blue sunshine. 
My point, if there is one, is that by taking notice of the little things around me (like the sassafras fruit in the photo) I am inspired and healed.  I can’t control any of these things either, but I’m not meant to.  It’s better than therapy (and a lot cheaper).  And while I remain unemployed and uninsured, I am painting prolifically and spending time with the Monkey before she disappears down the halls of school once more.  It’s not all bad and things are looking up – I should have more to say about that very soon…
In the mean time, I’m heading back outside to paint and enjoy the minutiae of life around me.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 11:49 am

    Way to look at things M.

    I’ve had that realization lately too; can’t control it, better not try to.

    Healing is good, pretty much however you get it.

  2. August 7, 2009 8:33 pm

    Yeah sometimes you just have to hold your breath, jump in and let the current take you.

    Oh black bears…how I don’t really miss running into them!

  3. August 10, 2009 4:25 pm

    Yup, it’s a good outlook. And I definitely agree that taking note of the good stuff, when it’s things you don’t register a lot of the time, is the way forward. I kind of inventory my house sometimes, just to remind myself that while we’re flat broke now and we can’t afford to do anything except, you know, count the cobwebs, we have had some lovely things given to us over the years, and they’re all still there, cobwebs notwithstanding.

  4. Tanya permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:25 am

    It is the little things around us that pull us through the hard times. I was on your ETSY site and noticed the daffodil painting was gone. Did you sell it?

Leave a Reply

