Skip to content

A Restoring Walk

October 7, 2009

IMG_5938

I went for a walk along the river yesterday.  The trail is close to home and often crowded.   I thought the trail would be busy.  Another nearby trail had warning signs posted about an aggressive bear.  I started later than the early morning  runners and too early for the afternoon crowd.  The river was mine.  The weather was cloudy, the leaves changing, and the river full and swift from the frequent rains.  I was armed with my camera, looking for inspiration for paintings.  Gigi went along and pretended squirrels were sheep to herd and to keep in the treetops. 

I’ve been extremely busy lately.  My paintings have been selling faster than I can paint them.  That’s a good thing, I think.  Although, I found the business of Art can consume more time that the making of Art.  I’ve been helping Charlie work to launch the iPhone app that has consumed him for months.  It’s easy for a whole day to pass before I realize my only outdoor excursion has been to let the chickens out and feed the animals.

I needed time away and a quiet space.  I found that yesterday only a stone’s throw away.  The sound of the river, the kingfishers and herons, the stillness that exists in an empty wood, restored me a little.

Anyone who cannot catch a glimpse of Grace in the falling birch leaves or feel that the answer to every question is just around the bend on a fall walk along a river has forgotten they have a soul.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:35 pm

    Hey Maggie! I’m so glad to hear that your paintings are selling well. Such great news! I still love mine and admire it every day. 🙂

  2. bezzie permalink
    October 7, 2009 8:30 pm

    Ooo…I like your winterscenes. I’m a sucker for anything snowcovered though!

Leave a Reply

